You are here

Connecticut car insurance

Car insurance policies are very important to have if you have a car. It can save you from some unwanted expenditures due to sudden accidents etc. You should always check online which policy suits you better and choose accordingly. Do not let some agent force some unwanted policy on you, about which you know little or nothing. Get to know which companies offer the best Connecticut car insurance, what are their ratings, compare the ratings with other companies etc. and choose accordingly.

Average premiums in Connecticut car insurance:

At the present moment, the average price for automobile insurance is moving around $120 in the Connecticut state. This price may go up or down at any moment, it solely depends upon the zip code of your area. Like, for example, if someone parks their car in their garage, who lives in Norwalk, that person might have to pay near about $111 per month as their insurance. But if someone lives in a comparatively costly city like Bridgeport, monthly insurance expenditure might increase as much as $130 per month or even more than that.

Some important Laws and Requirements regarding Connecticut car insurance

If the regulations of automobile insurance in Connecticut are compared with that of other states, it might appear a bit stricter than other states. The states liability requirements are as follows:

  • $20,000 minimum for injury liability.
  • $40,000 for all different kinds of injuries.
  • Minimum of $10,000 in case of damage in property.

The driver who is mainly responsible behind the damage and injury has to bear all the medical expenses of the ones who got injured.

Connecticut State’s current requirement is coverage for Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury. The minimum amount that needs to be payed to cover that is $20,000 per person, and the maximum amount is $40,000 per accident in case any physical injury has been causes by any motorist who is either uninsured or underinsured.

In case of minor collisions or other small comprehension there aren’t any requirements for that.

Connecticut car insurance coverage

It is a very complex process to choose the right kind of insurance coverage along with the coverage with the right amount. There are many insurance agents who can help you decide the right coverage according to your need. Following are some points that you need to keep in mind while choosing the right insurance coverage:

If your vehicle is new and expensive then more insurance coverage is always better. So that, if something happens to your car, you have to spend less on your car in order to fix and repair it.

DUI Laws in Connecticut State

For the first DUI offense in Connecticut, responsible drivers will have to face the following consequences:

  • $1100 fine and imprisonment for up to 180 days.
  • His or her license will be suspended for one year.
  • The responsible driver needs to get an SR-22 insurance certificate to get back their right of driving after such offense.
  • The due date for filling an application is 3 months from the date of conviction.
  • Your insurance cost coverage is also going to increase after being involved in any such crash.

Age limit laws in Connecticut State

You have to be at least 16 years old in Connecticut State to apply for a driver’s learner’s permit. After months of training and after at least 40 hours of supervised training, teenagers can then apply for permit of intermediate stage. This stage will have to continue for at least a year. Young drivers are not allowed drive alone from 11 PM to 5 AM unless they get their drivers license finally. Also they are not allowed to drive alone without any adult supervision for the first six months.

Credit Score Laws and Regulations in Connecticut State

Connecticut State allows their insurance agencies to change the prices for the customers according to their credit score. This means, if you have a clear credit score, then you will enjoy cheaper rates. Otherwise, you have to pay higher premiums.

Additional Connecticut car insurance Laws and Requirements

There are some more laws and requirements in Connecticut that you need to follow, such as, highway safety laws, speed limits laws, cell phone usage laws and requirements etc.