When you are hitting the roads of Colorado, make sure to have legit car insurance. Drivers have to show a valid identity proof along with their Colorado car insurance to avoid being penalized or getting convicted.
Average Premiums in Colorado
The state average premium for Colorado car insurance is fixed at $84-$85 per month. however, in some locations of Colorado, car insurance may be charged at $81 per month.
Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements in Colorado
Colorado has fixed liability insurance for the following;
- Injury liability fixed at $1,25,000
- Other injuries at $50,000
- Property damage liability coverage at $5000
Since 2003, Colorado has turned into a tort state, which demands the driver at fault to pay the medical expenses to the victim. Thus, it has now become necessary to carry high insurance coverage in contrast to the minimum coverage of the state.
Car Insurance Coverage in Colorado
As a driver who knows his financial responsibility is free to decide the amount of coverage for Colorado car insurance. That means, there is instability in the coverage amount. while the luxury cars require large insurance coverage, vehicles that are old can be covered by the minimum coverage amount.
DUI Laws in Colorado
Drivers who are found violating DUI laws will face the following penalties;
- Imprisonment up to 1 year
- Twelve license points
- Fine of $1200
- Community service for 96 hours along with nine months of license suspension
A driver has to sign the form of SR-22 in order to reinstate the license. During such situations, the insurance providers have full liberty to increase the cost of insurance.
Age Limit Laws in Colorado
In order to get a Colorado learner’s license the driver has to fulfill the following conditions;
- Teenagers aged 15 years who have completed the driving course
- Teenagers aged 15 years and six months who have completed the driver awareness programs
- Young drivers who have attained 16 years without a proper driver’s training
Despite getting the learner’s permit, the driver must have taken 50 hours supervised training in order to qualify for the next stage.
Teenagers who have qualified for the intermediate stage are not allowed to drive between 12 am to 5 am. Moreover, they cannot take a passenger until the age of 21 years.
In Colorado, a 17-year-old teenager gets a full permit for driving on the roads.
Credit Score Laws and Regulations in Colorado
Colorado state government allows the insurance companies to cross-check the credit information of the insurer before deciding the rates. The monthly Colorado car insurance cost reduces when the credit score is higher. If you want to pay lower monthly rates but have a poor credit score, you will have to work towards increasing your credibility.
High credit scorers are charged approx. $38 while poor credit scorers are charged up to $74 per month.
Insuring your Vehicle in Colorado
When you are getting Colorado car insurance, it covers all the accidental expenses and adverse incidents. That means, the driver feels covered along with the vehicle insurance. However, it is to be noted that, the insurance coverage is customized according to the vehicle’ make and model. The driver is not covered by the car insurance.
Additional Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements in Colorado
The state laws heavily influence the rates of the insurance. Whenever you are found violating them, it automatically increases your monthly charges.
- Highway safety laws
In Colorado, there are no driving rules or any highway safety laws. That means, the drivers can feel free to drive aggressively without worrying about the driving manners and ethics. However, in case of accidents, the Colorado car insurance company and the driver will be held responsible for the accident.
- Speed limits and use of cellphones
There is a legal driver ban on texting and driving in Colorado. It is considered as a primary offense. Thus, if the driver is found texting while driving, he is instantly convicted under the law enforcement. There is equal law enforcement on the speed limit as well. A driver is not allowed to drive above 65mph in an urban interstate.
When we are talking about Colorado car insurance quotes is a quite interesting state for this case. This rate differs from one company to another and depends on driver’s ZIP code, his driving record, his age and credit history. We’ve sorted out some statistics about current companies by their affordability rating:
- Progressive - 5.0
- 21st Century - 5.0
- American family - 5.0
- Nationwide - 5.0
- Amica - 4.0
- AAA - 4.0
- GEICO - 4.0
- Travelers - 4.0
- Allstate - 3.0
- Farmers - 3.0
- Liberty Mutual - 3.0
- MetLife - 3.0
- Safeco - 3.0
- State Farm - 3.0
- Ameriprise - 3.0
- Auto Owners - 3.0
- USAA - 3.0
- AIG - 3.0
- Allied - 3.0
- Esurance - 3.0
To help our reader narrow the topic and find the cheapest offer in Colorado, we’ve made a research of rates from largest companies in this state and find the best options for the following categories:
|Grange Insurance Association||$847|
|Colorado Farm Bureau||$1,899|
Best offers for good drivers and young drivers
How much is car insurance Colorado for such drivers? Best rates for people with no moving violations, DUIs or accidents per year:
- American Family– 1124$
- State Farm – 1156$
- Farmers – 1338$
American Family offers cheap car insurance Colorado for about $95 per month among other two companies: Farmers and State Farm. Even if your driving record is blameless, and you’re meeting all the requirements, it’s a good idea to compare current rates in order to choose the best service. When we did our research, we found that in Colorado, among compared companies, rates varied by more than $1000 for good drivers.
- Farmers – $630
- Safeco – $645
- State Farm – $698
A young driver is less likely than a driver with family to get a big asset that will be at risk in one or another lawsuit. Because of this you can probably get less coverage and be happy with the lowest rates. We’ve checked out quotes for 20s year’s old drivers in order to find the cheapest coverage that is able in Colorado. As we can see in the list above, Farmers offers an average cost of $630, in other words, $53 per month. Also, State Farms and Safeco are not so far from Farmers. These offers are able in each city of the state, including cheap car insurance Colorado Springs co.
Best offers for drivers with one at-fault accident
- State Farm – $1352
- Farmers – $1648
- American Family – $1720
If you trapped in an at-fault accident, you have to be ready for the fact, that it triggers your rate increase, your renewal time and when you shop for a renewed policy respectively. As we mentioned in the list above, the cheapest car insurance in Colorado for a driver with such driving history is provided by State Farm and it will be $1352 a year. This price is more than $200 bigger that the best available offers for drivers with a clean history and the same age. The difference between State Farm offer and the closest one, provided by Farmers, is more than $300! By the way, the most expensive coverage for a driver who had an accident was $3400, because of this; it is pretty smart to compare existing rates despite the fact that you have a stained record. You can find broker Denver and other cities of the state.
The minimum coverage levels in Colorado
Colorado car insurance laws indicate the following mandatory payments:
- minimum $25000 for injured person;
- $50000 for an accident;
- $15000 property injury liability for occurred accident.
It is a great idea to buy a bit more than the lowest minimum in order to avoid enormous accident bills or lawsuits. You also may want to choose other types of coverage, like comprehensive and collision, which will pay theft of your car or for damage.
Several western states are members of the AAIP (Association of Auto Insurance Plans). If you are a driver who is unable to get best car insurance Colorado on the free market because of the fact of past accidents or some factors can be able with AAIP to find an insurer.